Dear Carbon Fast Diary…

I’m sorry that I haven’t written to you in a while, but I’ve been busy trying to reduce my carbon ‘paw-print’ through Tearfund’s Carbon Fast. The Fast is all about doing your part to reduce carbon emissions and help protect poor people from climate change.

We’re two weeks into Lent and I’ve already done so much to reduce my carbon footprint – and it’s been great fun!

Checking my Carbon Footprint!

I kicked off my Carbon Fast by finding out what my current carbon ‘paw-print’ is, using a nifty calculator called My Global Impact – you can find out yours at www.tearfund.org/mgi

Anyone for apples?

On Day 2 of the Carbon Fast, I decided that I should eat more vegetarian meals, as the livestock industry contributes 18% of global CO2 emissions. I decided to get stuck in straight away, tucking into a delicious bowl of fresh fruit!

The highlight of my Carbon Fast so far was definitely the candlelit meal I had with my good friend Holly on Day 8 of the fast – I saved lots of energy by turning out the lights and using candles instead!

Enjoying the ambience of a candlelit meal

 I’ll have more updates for you in the coming weeks, but until then, why not visit the Carbon Fast website for more information about how to join in.

And if you’re doing the Carbon Fast – let me know how you’re getting on, either by commenting on here, or via my Twitter page! (But don’t do it on Day 20 – that’s the technology fast day!)

Leave a Reply

